DIY eye makeup remover with free printable label

If you’re already thinking that anything titled “DIY” should never go on your eyes, I understand. I thought the same thing when I saw this recipe on One Good Thing by Jillee. Then I took a good look at the ingredients . . . and still couldn’t bring myself to do it. But every time I went to the store and dished out money for two bottles of my favorite brand (one for me and one for my daughter) my mind went back to Jillee’s post. Finally, after pouring over her readers’ comments and a little of my own research, I gave it a try. So happy I did.

Let me point out that I have the worst skin. I’ve taken prescription tetracycline and accutane but still struggle with breakouts and scarring. That means this stuff has to be really, really good for me to use it. Enough already, here it is.

THE RECIPE



1 cup distilled water
1 1/2 tablespoons baby shampoo (no tears)
1 tablespoon coconut oil

Heat the water for about a minute in the microwave then add the shampoo and the solid coconut oil. The coconut oil will become liquid in the warm water. Funnel it into a cute little bottle and it’s ready. I’ve seen other recipes that only used 1/8 teaspoon of coconut oil so you can adjust the amount to suit your own needs. I use 1 tablespoon and it works fine for me.

THE RESULTS
I’ve been using this DIY eye makeup remover for several months and can honestly say I have no complaints. I apply it with a cotton ball and it works just as well as my old, name-brand version. And, most importantly, it has not caused one single eyebrow zit.

THE COST COMPARISON (click on the chart to see a larger, clearer version)

Keep in mind that this comparison is for 8 ounces of the DIY version (because that’s how much the recipe makes) versus 5.5 ounces of the name brand. It would only cost $0.44 for 5.5 ounces of our version. Cha-ching!

THE FREE PRINTABLE


Now for the pretty stuff. You can find a bottle like mine at Wal-Mart for $1. Better yet, reuse your empty name-brand bottle. Of course, I had to make up a cute little label for it – one that not only tells me what’s in the bottle but reminds me how to make more when I run out. Want one? Just click HERE or on the link below to access the free pdf file.

A few notes:
1. My bottle only holds 3 ounces so the label is small.
2. I recommend having your label laminated or sticking it on your bottle with clear packing tape since it will most likely be in an area with a lot of moisture.
3. My printer is on its last leg so it doesn’t print very clearly. I promise the JPG file is clean, unlike the label in my picture.
4. This is my first time posting a printable so let me know if you have any problems.

Please let me know if you decide to try this low-cost, DIY eye makeup remover. I can’t wait to hear how it works for you.

5 thoughts on “DIY eye makeup remover with free printable label

    • I bought mine at a local natural foods store but Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods should carry it. There are lots of different brands out there. I chose this one because there was an in-store coupon at the time. Also, the oil will separate a little and may stick to the sides of the bottle over time. Don’t worry, it hasn’t changed the results for me at all. Just shake the bottle before each use and it should be fine. Let me know how it works for you.

  1. I just tried this and I LOVE it! So cheap and worked just as good as my expensive stuff. I really want to say thanks for the printable too. I’ve been trying a lot of homemade recipes and I hate having to go back to online to check how to make it again when I’m out. You’re the best!

    • Hi Cassie. So sorry I just found your comment. Truth is I’ve moved my blog and your comment came through at the old location. I love that you’re using the make up remover. Me & my teenage daughter are still totally happy with it, too. BTW, the blog is at laughingabi.com now. Check out the new stuff when you have time.

      abi

      > > New comment on your post “DIY eye makeup remover with free printable label” > Author : cassie (IP: 98.242.43.119 , c-98-242-43-119.hsd1.ca.comcast.net) > E-mail : cass7@rocketmail.com > URL : > Whois : http://whois.arin.net/rest/ip/98.242.43.119

Leave a Reply

