Ladies’ Day Out Expo – My Bungee Bounce-Back

Let me start by saying I consider the Ladies’ Day Out Expo a success. That being said, it was far from a smooth process. The short version goes like this: there was a huge miscommunication between the show organizers and the venue management. The result was approximately 13 vendors, including yours truly, with no table and no place to set up.

DO NOT PANIC. DO NOT CRY. DO NOT INJURE ANYONE.

I waited. And waited. Eventually, I decided to cut my losses and leave. It just wasn’t going to happen this time. And I was crushed. But then at the very last-minute a space opened up and I jumped on it. It was an hour-and-a-half late but I had a table. And a glimmer of hope.

I set up my space just like I practiced at home and I’m pretty pleased with how it looked. (Pictures are coming soon, I promise.) Then I met my “neighbors”, Tammy and Keyana. They were so supportive and helpful – the kind of people you always hope to meet at an event like this. The three of us attacked what was left of our day with positive attitudes and big smiles.

Then it happened. I sold a card. This may not seem earth-shattering, but if you read my previous posts you’ll understand my euphoria. By the end of the day I had sold over 20 cards plus a handful of gift tags.

EXHALE. SIGH OF RELIEF. PAT ON THE BACK.

Of course, the people I met are proving more helpful to my business than the sales I made. I love when that happens. And I also have to point out that the show organizers offered each and every vendor a free show to make up for the morning’s chaos. It’s already been scheduled and it looks like all the details have been handled. Nice.

So my biggest fear has not been realized. I did not suck. My bungee cord did not break – again. Now it’s time to put all this drama behind me and move forward.

REMOVE WEIGHT FROM SHOULDERS. SMILE.

Leave a Reply

