DIY Masterpiece Monday: Inexpensive Halloween Decorations Made From Tree Branches

DIY Halloween decorations

Last Halloween I spotted some cute lighted “branch” decorations at Target. They were small and peuny, designed to stake in the ground along the path to your door. They weren’t anything I needed but made me think of an old, spooky forest on Halloween night. That’s all it took to start up my DIY engine.

DIY Halloween decorations DIY Halloween decorations

I went home and cut down some tree branches that needed to be pruned anyway then hit them with a few shots of black spray paint. I had to tie a few together with twist ties to get exactly the shape and size I wanted. Next I wrapped them with a set of orange Halloween lights I had picked up at a garage sale. My light strands weren’t enough to cover every branch so I just made sure to light the shape I wanted to show up in the dark. Then I stuck them in the big flower pots on each side of my garage door (along with the ornamental grass leftover from summer) and plugged them in. Voila.

DIY Halloween decorations

daytime view

DIY Halloween decorations

night view

One thought on “DIY Masterpiece Monday: Inexpensive Halloween Decorations Made From Tree Branches

  1. Lighted branches make excellent decorations for any occasion, or for holidays like Halloween and Christmas. They can be twisted to any shape, and even come in battery operated forms so they can be set up anywhere!

Leave a Reply

