A is for Aquarium Stand: A-Z Blog Challenge

Santa brought my daughter a lizard for Christmas last year. It lives in a 50-gallon aquarium tank in my living room. Did you hear me? I said there’s a 4-foot freakin’ glass box sitting in my living room. With a lizard in it.

My challenges:
1. Find a piece of furniture that makes this tank look good incredible.
2. Make it look like it belongs in the room/fits with my decor.
3. Incorporate storage to hide things like live crickets and freeze-dried crickets grasshoppers.
4. As always, do it for cheap.

I searched high-and-low for traditional aquarium stands that fit these criteria. All the options were either too ugly or too expensive. So I turned to my good friend, the Salvation Army. It was there I found this lovely for $60.

A is for aquarium stand

Perfect. I knew as soon as I saw it. And yes, I realize it’s a china hutch, not an aquarium stand. After a lot of demo, sanding, sweating, and painting it was transformed into this.

A is for aquarium stand

A is for aquarium stand

A is for aquarium stand

A is for aquarium stand

A is for aquarium stand

Beautiful, yes? I included a couple close-ups of the distressing since you can’t see it very well in the other shots. My favorite part is the faux stainless steel base/stand that, ironically enough, matches the base of the china hutch in my dining room. Confession: I’m not in love with the feathers on the doors but I can’t make up my mind what else to do. Those flat panels are screaming for a painted pattern of some sort but there are so many great options, I just can’t decide. Here are some of my favorite inspiration pieces.

A is for aquarium stand

A is for aquarium stand

A is for aquarium standA is for aquarium stand
In the end I want the doors to make a statement, but not a “high-five you in the face with a hammer” statement. I’ll be sure to post an update if I ever make a decision. Of course your ideas and suggestions are welcome.

This post is the first in a series of 26 inspired by the A-Z Blogging Challenge. Click over and see all the amazing bloggers working their way through the alphabet in April.

9 thoughts on “A is for Aquarium Stand: A-Z Blog Challenge

  1. Oh my goodness!! freeze-dried crickets?!?! What a great mom!
    Love your blog- I really love looking for old treasures, but I add them to my house as is. I wish I had the know how to change things up. The cabinet turned out perfectly! Love the color and the feathers give it a great whimsical and earthy feel.
    Good luck with the challenge… I can tell its going to be fun!
    Leigh @oneandoneequalstwinfun.com

    • Leigh,
      The freeze-dried crickets are the easy part. The live ones that have to be dusted with calcium powder are the challenge! Thanks for the feedback. I’m really happy with how the cabinet turned out – and the feathers are growing on me.

  2. Firstly the lizard is gorgeous and secondly I love what you done with the china cabinet.

    It looks perfect with the aquarium sitting on the top and you would never actually know what it started out as. I like the feathers on it too.

    Good luck with the challenge!

Leave a Reply

