B is for Birds On A Wire: A-Z Blog Challenge

This is for all of you with two-story homes. You know that giant, blank space above your staircase? I’m talking about the one you see when you’re walking down the stairs. The one that stretches 9-12 feet overhead and is totally blank. Maybe you’re lucky and have an elegant light fixture hanging there, filling the void. But if you’re like me, you have nothing. Nada. Zero. Zip. My thrifty solution? Some paint and an inexpensive wall decal from “Target The Great”.

Imagine these as one big, ceiling-to-floor photo. I know it looks like the side walls are
two different colors but I promise, it’s just the poor lighting. 
Birds on a wire

Birds on a wire

 

 
 
Here’s a close-up of that one little orange birdy.

Birds on a wire

I divided the space into three equal sections and painted each one a different shade. I custom-mixed the colors by adding white to the paint I already had from the surrounding hallway. No measuring or math required, just stir in some white until you like it.The bird decals were something I had from a previous project. I originally planned to hang some decorative moulding between the sections but decided the birds would be more fun. Lastly, the birdcage came from the hospital gift shop where I volunteer. (Yep, hospital gift shop.) I bought the chain at ACE Hardware for less than $1 and spray painted it black. Voila.Do you have a huge, blank wall in your home? What have you used to fill the space?

This post is the second in a series of 26 inspired by the A-Z Blogging Challenge. Click over and see all the amazing bloggers working their way through the alphabet in April.

9 thoughts on “B is for Birds On A Wire: A-Z Blog Challenge

  1. What an awesome idea! I’m so bleah at decorating…. Thanks for sharing your creativity – I love it!!

    (I found you via the A-to-Z challenge! I can’t wait to see what you do with the rest!)

  2. I LOVE this solution!!!! It is perfect!! If I had a space like it in my house I would do it immediately. Sadly I must keep the idea for my next house.

Leave a Reply

