K is for Knit Sweater Pillow Cover: A-Z Blog Challenge

I’m kicking myself right now for not taking a picture of my sweater before I chopped it into a million pieces. A found something similar to help you get an idea of how awesome this project really is. Kinda like this one but with no zipper or hood. And with a beautiful circle pattern knitted into the back. And longer. Other than that, they’re exactly the same.

K is for Knit Sweater Pillow Cover

It was originally from White House Black Market but I found it at a resale shop for $12!

K is for Knit Sweater Pillow Cover

I started out by simply wrapping the sweater around my down pillow insert and trimming off the sleeves. (I’m happy to report that the whole thing did not unravel into a fat pile of white yarn as I feared.) Then I attempted to sew up the holes I had made. It looked like crap. Like a sweater with the sleeves cut off. I had nothing to lose at this point so I just kept working. It had to turn into something eventually, right? After several determined hours of cutting, stitching, trimming, cussing, ripping out stitches, and drinking vodka, I came up with this.

K is for Knit Sweater Pillow Cover

K is for Knit Sweater Pillow Cover

Nice, right? See the circle pattern I was telling you about? I love the texture on my red leather chair. Yummy. My advice if you want to try this project is to be flexible. Don’t try too hard to follow a pattern or treat the sweater like a regular piece of fabric. It’s going to be bumpy and lumpy and a little hard to manage. Just keep at it and in the end you’ll have a fabulous upcycled pillow cover.

This post is number 11 in a series of 26 inspired by the A-Z Blogging Challenge. Click over and see all the amazing bloggers working their way through the alphabet in April.

Leave a Reply

