My chevron Halloween mantle.

I decided the Halloween mantle would be perfect for my first DIY chevron stripe. If it sucked I could just call it “spooky”. Here’s how it turned out. Totally not sucking, btw.

chevron Halloween mantle 1

chevron Halloween mantle 3

chevron Halloween mantle 6

chevron Halloween mantle 2

chevron Halloween mantle 5

As always, I did it on the cheap. Here’s a quick run down of my “sources”.

1. Large frame: this frame is actually part of a print that hangs over our fireplace year-round. I simply painted my chevron stripes on a roll of craft paper, trimmed it to fit, and stuck it on with non-permanent scrapbook adhesive.
COST: FREE

chevron frame before

2. Small frame: I shopped the little frame from another room in the house. The “31” is printed on more craft paper and stuck on with more scrapbook adhesive.
COST: FREE

3. Candles: I already had these little votives and the holder. I picked them up at a garage sale a few years ago.
COST: FREE

4. Birds and pumpkin: Dollar Store (Paint and embellishments from my craft stash.)
COST: $3

5. Branches: my backyard
COST: FREE

6. Spider & embroidery floss: craft stash
COST: FREE

7. Brown jar: barn sale, purchased specifically for this project.
COST: $1

8. Wood stump: This is actually a votive holder that I turned upside-down.
COST: FREE

My total cost was only $4. And I learned to make chevron stripes. Happy-happy, joy-joy.

Since I’m celebrating my first chevron victory I thought I would try another first – a bloggy link-up. All that means is if you click on the cool little “Halloween Ideas” logo down there it will take you to a mazillion other amazing DIY projects for the season. Do it. Do it now.



6 thoughts on “My chevron Halloween mantle.

  1. Pingback: Halloween porch and DIY outdoor Halloween decorations. | laughing abi

  2. Pingback: Easy fall decorations | laughing abi

Leave a Reply

